The Vegg: Cracking open the vegan egg yolk

Vegg French toast

Vegg French toast. (Stephen Hui)

Last weekend, I made French toast for breakfast. No eggs or bananas were involved. I used the Vegg.

Recently, I received a sample of the Vegg from its creator, Rocky Shepheard of Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. The plant-based egg-yolk replacer can be used to make vegan versions of everything from fried eggs and hard-boiled eggs to carbonara and egg nog. Containing fortified nutritional yeast, sodium alginate, black salt, and beta carotene, the powder is gluten-free, soy-free, and GMO-free.

The Vegg Cookbook

The Vegg Cookbook. (Stephen Hui)

Shepheard also sent me a copy of The Vegg Cookbook, a compilation of dozens of recipes submitted by bloggers. To get started, I chose the Vegg French toast recipe (by Melissa Cacioppo of Jersey City Vegan) on page 22, because it appeared to be the easiest. All it requires is the Vegg, water, plant milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and bread.

The first step: combining the Vegg powder and water in a blender. Wow, that Vegg sure smells like hard-boiled egg yolk when it’s added to water. I used rice milk and ended up with a decent batch of French toast. Sadly, I didn’t have any maple syrup on hand.

My French toast had a light, pleasant flavour, but I shouldn’t have used crappy supermarket sliced bread. Next time, I’ll make sure to use firmer bread and thicker slices.

The Vegg

The Vegg. (Stephen Hui)

I haven’t got around to making anything else with the Vegg. The process for cooking a fried egg with a spherified yolk sounds a bit like a science experiment. So, the next time I use it, I’m thinking more along the lines of an omelette.

The Vegg is available from its makers’ website. A 4.5-ounce container goes for $22 US.

One thought on “The Vegg: Cracking open the vegan egg yolk

Comments are closed.